- Art 408 Visual Culture
In this course you'll be investigating hip hop, visual culture, and contemporary art. This guide offers some collected resources, most available in the Thurgood Marshall Library, that you can turn to for help writing your first essay, the Lost and Found paper, and also throughout the course of the semester. Please feel free to contact the library with any questions you may have!
- APA Style: How to Cite Sources in APA Format
The APA Style: How to Cite Sources in APA Format libguide provides an overview with examples of how to cite references and format a research paper using APA style formatting.
- Where can I find information on MLA format?
MLA format is an editorial style developed by the Modern Language Association. It is primarily used by students and scholars in Humanities fields (Literature, Languages, Philosophy ect...).
- Thurgood Marshall Library Virtual Tour
This informative libguide highlights the different areas of the library. Watch video tutorials about each library department to find out what library services are available. Review the information when you are finished by taking the quiz at the Test Yourself tab.
- Finding Sources of Information at Thurgood Marshall Library
This guide has tutorials on Research Port, CatalogUSMAI, and WorldCat Local. It has a tutorial on keyword searching. It covers the research process and gives lots of information about finding sources of information.
- This is C.R.A.A.P. Website Evaluation
When you search the Web, you’re going to find a lot of information, but is it accurate and reliable? You will have to determine this for yourself, and the CRAAP Test can help.
- RESEARCH PROCESS - HOW TO, WHERE TO GO, WHAT TO DO
Research is not three easy steps. It requires identifying, choosing, analyzing, and evaluating many sources of information. This libguide will explain how to do research.
- Psychology Research Guide
The purpose of this guide is to assist Bowie students in researching and formating papers for psychology courses. The goal is to provide research guidance to any student taking a psychology course and also to provide resources to psychology majors as they strive to achieve their learning outcomes.
- Where can I find library resources on Sport Management?
- Banking and Finance for Dr. Sunando Sengupta's FINA 422 and FINA 424
Covering the topics of Commercial Banking, Banking Regulations, International Finance, and Corporate Finance, this research guide provides access to resources on the Internet and in Research Port.
- CRJU 410-001 Special Topics in Criminal Justice
Crimes of passion, violent crimes, serial crimes, victims and offenders. This libguide will help you find the information that Thurgood Marshall Library has to offer for this course.
- Where can I find information for English 758 Seminar in African Literature
The Seminar in African Literature is designed to provide students with a specific and global view of the diversity of literatures from the African continent. This libguide is a supplement to the course taught by Dr. Sidney Walker.
- Writing a Literature Review
Resources and tips to help you write an academic Literature Review.
- How to Create an Annotated Bibliography
One of the most important aspects of conducting any research is compiling a bibliography of sources. As you're going through the research process you may be asked - or you may find it useful - to create an annotated bibliography. Just like a regular bibliography this will contain publication information for the sources that you are citing in your work, but the annotated bibliography will also include a brief summary of the source and your own critical assessment of it's relevance, objectivity, and usefulness. This allows you to keep an organized record of your own critical thinking throughout the research process.
- Guide to Plagiarism and How to Avoid It.
The process of synthesis in academic writing is part of becoming a scholar. You are reading and learning from the scholars who have shaped your chosen discipline. By properly citing the words and ideas of experts in your paper, you are bolstering and supporting your own arguments, and developing the skills of a scholar. Plagiarism negates all of this.
- Empirical, Scholarly, and Peer-Reviewed Articles
SCHOLARLY ARTICLE Definition: Also known as peer-reviewed or refereed periodicals, scholarly journals publish original research and commentary on current developments within a specific discipline. To learn more follow this link.
- My Story, Bowie's Story - Making Theater About Us Learning Community
This learning community is part the Scholar's Studio and combines four classes: English, Psychology, Introduction to Theater, and Freshman Seminar. A group of freshmen take all of the same classes together, and the result is student success!
- Crownsville State Hospital Learning Community
Crownsville State Hospital, formerly the Hospital for the Negro Insane of Maryland, was established in 1911 to serve the mentally ill African American population of Maryland. This guide contains a concise history of and social context for the institution as well as useful resources for the Crownsville Learning Community at Bowie State University.
- Ethnography Libguide
This libguide was created for the Scholar's Studio Community that is focusing on West Baltimore and its rich history and diversity.
- Marketing Research MKTG 430
Emphasis will be placed on issues of validity, reliability, problem identification, research design, communication methods, data collection, analysis, interpretation and presentation of data applied to the solution of marketing problems.
- The Curriculum Laboratory
Instructional materials available for review that support preK-12 teacher education and professional development. The Curriculum Laboratory collection supports and primarily the College of Education students with emphasis on pre-service/in-service teachers, faculty, staff and University campus, as well as educational professionals and individuals interested in curriculum related materials.
- Full-Text E-Journals in Research Port for International Business
There are several databases in Research Port that contain full-text e-journals on the subject of International Business.
Find out which ones they are in this libguide.
- Using Call Numbers in the Library
The Thurgood Marshall Library uses the Library of Congress Classification System to organize their materials. This guide will show you how to use that system to find materials in the library.
- Where can I find Full-Text E-Journals in Research Port for International Business
This LibGuide offers lists of full-text e-journals that are in Research Port databases. These lists show you the best places to find articles on International Business.
Created by Monica Luciano in collaboration with Dr. Falih Alsaaty.
- Where can I find information about Archives & Special Collections at Thurgood Marshall Library?
Home to the historical records of Bowie State University, including publications and photographs. Here you'll also find Special Collections materials such as manuscript collections, records of local organizations, vertical files, and ephemera.
- Where can I find lists of Research Port Full-text Databases for Information Systems Research?
This LibGuide offers lists of full-text e-journals that are in six of the Research Port databases. These lists show you the best places to find articles on Information Systems.
Created by Monica Luciano in collaboration with Dr. Azene Zenebe
- Where can I find Subject Guides for Electronic Resources
This subject guides listed in this libguide offer a wide range of electronic resources that are available for free through the Internet.
- Carter G. Woodson "Miseducation" Project : Intergrative Learning Community of the Scholar's Studio Libguide by Monica Luciano
Scholar's Studio has partnered with the National Park Service (NPS) to support the restoration and preservation of Carter G. Woodson's Washington D.C. home. This partnership will give the students an opportunity to learn about African American history, leadership, business, and education.
- New Jim Crow Project : Integrative Learning Community of the Scholar's Studio
This research guide provides tutorials, resource lists, tips and links for students doing research in the fields of sociology, psychology, and the interdisciplinary topic of mass incarceration.