LibGuides: Criminal Justice/ Special Topics, CRJU 410-001: Materials from the Government

FBI - Reports & Publications: Serial Murder

Serial Murder: Multi-Disciplinary Perspectives for Investigators
Printable PDF of this 71-page document.

Serial Murder: Multi-Disciplinary Perspectives for Investigators

a publication of the National Center for the

Analysis of Violent Crime

Critical Incident Response Group

Federal Bureau of Investigation

Table of Contents
See bottom of box for printable PDF

Department of Justice

Bureau of Justice Assistance - Publications
Search publications by keywords or by topics: Adjudication, Corrections, Counter-Terrorism, Crime Prevention, Justice Information Sharing, Law Enforcement, Mental Health, Substance Abuse, and Tribal Justice.
Bureau of Justice Statistics
View BJS publications and products (to include press releases, data tables) by conducting a search, selecting a topic, or selecting a product type. You can then click on a title to view the item's description/abstract and connect to the files associated with the publication/product.
Community Oriented Policing Services - COPS
Search publications by keywords or browse these categories: School/Campus Safety, Community Partnerships, Nonviolent Crime, Police Operations, Homeland Security, Technology, Alternatives to Incarceration, Data and Analysis, Ethics and Integrity, Foundations of Community Policing, Hiring, Recruitment, and Retention, New Immigrant Communities, Tribal, Violent Crime, Youth Safety.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Browse A - Z listing of publications or A - Z listing of topics. May also search by keywords and/or filter records by the sponsoring OJP agency.
National Institute of Corrections - Robert J. Kutak Memorial Library
The Robert J. Kutak Memorial Library is a specialized collection of corrections-related materials. The focus of the collection is on unpublished, operationally-oriented resources developed by correctional agencies for use by practitioners in the field. The collection includes items such as policies, procedural manuals, reports, newsletters, and training materials. The library also collects published materials on correctional topics and serves as a distribution center and archive for NIC publications. Almost one-third of the library's materials are available through our online library. The library also provides research support to corrections practitioners through our Online Help Desk.
Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention - Publications
Publications include newsletters, journals, bulletins, fact sheets, reports, summaries, portable guides, and video tapes. Some materials are also available in e-book format. Search by publication, series, topic & subtopic, and/or keywords.
Office of Victims of Crimes: Library & Multimedia
Browse publications or search by keywords and/or topics. The library also provides references and directory links to often-used informational documents, data, statistics, etc.

National Institute of Justice (NIJ) Publications

NIJ Publications Related to Rape and Sexual Assault

Click on the title above to retrieve the articles below

Houston Creates a Hotline, Hires Justice Advocate to Help Solve Sexual Assaults - Interview with Caitlin Sulley
NCJ 247990, April 2014, Remarks/Interview, by Caitlin Sulley

Notifying Sexual Assault Victims When Evidence Is Tested - Interview with Dr. Noel Busch-Armendariz
NCJ 247991, April 2014, Remarks/Interview, by Noel Busch-Armendariz Ph.D.

The Importance of Victim Cooperation in Solving Sexual Assaults - Interview with Dr. Bill Wells
NCJ 247793, April 2014, Remarks/Interview, by Bill Wells Ph.D.

Violence and Victimization Research Division's Compendium of Research on Violence Against Women, 1993-2013
NCJ 223572, December 2013, by National Institute of Justice (189 pages)

Partners in Research: Lessons Learned in Los Angeles
NCJ 241925, May 2013, NIJ Journal, by Bethany Backes, Melissa Rorie (6 pages)

Sex Offenders Monitored by GPS Found to Commit Fewer Crimes
NCJ 240700, February 2013, NIJ Journal, by Philip Bulman (4 pages)

The Neurobiology of Sexual Assault: Implications for First Responders in Law Enforcement, Prosecution, and Victim Advocacy
NCJ 240953, December 2012, Recorded Seminar, by Rebecca Campbell

Solving Sexual Assaults: Finding Answers Through Research
NCJ 238483, June 2012, NIJ Journal, by Nancy Ritter (14 pages)