LibGuides: Archives & Special Collections Department: University Archives

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Archives & Special Collection Request Form

The Archives & Special Collection is open by appointment only. Please submit your request from this online form.

Contact the Library Administrative Office at 301.860-3850

University Archives

Records of Bowie State University colleges, divisions, academic departments, offices, special projects, and more. Most collections are unprocessed; restrictions on access may apply. Please see the collection guide or inquire for more information.

Academic Affairs Records (AR-010) 1993-2001
Academic Skills/Learning Resource Center Records (AR-009) 1975-1987
Administrative Records, Misc. (AR-023) 1970-2002
Course Syllabi/Reserves (AR-016) 1982-1997
Early Student Records (AR-015) 1912-1977. Access restrictions may apply.
Library Administration Records (AR-008) 1955-2002
Public Relations Department Records (AR-014) 1960-1996
Seminar Papers (AR-005) 1970-1994
University Administration Records (AR-006) 1942-1993

Office of the President, 1982-2005 (AR-007). Unprocessed with many restricted files.

University Publications Inventories

These are printed materials created by Bowie State University, about Bowie State University. If you are curious as to the contents of each collection, please click on the PDF links to see an inventory of each collection. The PDF file will open in a new window or tab. Please note that the inventories are only a list of the items in the collection.

Alumni Directories 1985-2016
Annual Reports 1970-present. Institution-wide and some departmental reports, plus other related documents.
BSU Reporter Magazine published by the administration, 2001-2004
Campus Directories 1973-1997. Telephone directories for all University offices, departments, colleges and staff.
Catalogs 1911-2018
Class Schedules 1964-2010
The College Eye Student newspaper, 1935-1967
Commencement Programs 1912-present
Contact newsletter "To Alumni and Friends of Bowie State College"; 1976-1979
Convocation Programs 1985-present
Early Misc. Publications 1924-1965. These are mostly unrelated to other series.
The Ebony Tree Student newspaper, 1968-1978
Evening/Weekend/Cont. Ed. Class Schedules Undergrad and Grad, Off Campus; 1978-1988
Fact Books 1972-2011
Faculty Handbooks 1965-2001
Founders Day programs 1941-present
Humanities & Fine Arts Festival 1974-1998
Presidents Publications 1967-2017
The Spectrum Student newspaper; paper copies, 1979-2010.
Student Handbooks 1965-2001
Yearbooks 1954-2005; not comprehensive.

Early Student Newspapers ONLINE!

Now online, the College Eye (1935-1967) and The Ebony Tree (1968-1978)!

In honor of the 150th anniversary of Bowie State University’s founding in 1865, all currently held editions of the Normal Eye/College Eye/College Ear, the earliest student newspaper held in the Bowie State University Archives, and The Ebony Tree, its successor, are available online in PDF format.

Help us complete our files! We are grateful for any loans or gifts of missing issues. If you have questions or problems with any of these files, please contact the Archives.

Click on the links below to view issues of The College Eye and The Ebony Tree.

Images from University Archives

Poster for football game between Maryland Normal & Industrial School at Bowie's Bulls and the "Royal A.C.’s, the strongest colored team in Indianapolis"

[from http://historicindianapolis.com/the-little-known-reason-indys-superbowl-is-overdue/ ], 1937.

Historic Indianapolis.com