Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OneSearch – A Quick Guide: Home

What is OneSearch?

OneSearch is just what it implies - a tool that allows simultaneous searching for almost all of the articles, books, and media owned by the Bowie Library. This includes articles published in scholarly, peer-reviewed journals.

Librarian

Avril Cunningham's picture
Avril Cunningham
Contact:
Bowie State University
Thurgood Marshall Library
301-860-3872

Using OneSearch

Easy Steps for Using OneSearch

1.  Bowie Website + Library + OneSearch

2.  In the search box, type in your keywords.


TIPS FOR BEST RESULTS

  • Searches are not case-sensitive; it’s okay to use upper- or lower-case letters.
  • Spelling matters
  • Use keywords or short keyword phrases – avoid complete sentences.
  • Use filters to narrow your results.  Under the "Refine by" column, filter for:
    • Books  - select USMAI Catalog  
    • Scholarly articles - select Scholarly (peer reviewed) journals
    • Publication date 
    • Full-text
    • Subject, Publication, etc.
  • Not enough results? Use fewer keywords and/or use the Advanced Search feature
  • Irrelevant results? Go to the A to Z Databases list and select a content-specific database; i.e. ABI/Inform for business, Human Resources, or marketing subjects 

Accessing OneSearch Off-Campus

How do I access OneSearch or other library databases if I am off-campus?

Step One:  Get out your Bowie Bulldog ID Card and look in the lower right corner for the string of 14-digits following the letters LIB#.  

Step Two: Go to Bowie's library Webpage. Find and open A to Z Databases. Select OneSearch or another database of your choice.

Step Three:  In the first pop-up window select "Bowie State University" 

Step Four:   In the login widow, type in your 14-digit LIB# in the box that asks for your ID number/barcode, and type your last name into the Password box


I was on-campus using my laptop, but I still couldn't access the databases. Why?

That's probably because you were not connected to BullDogAir, the campus Wi-Fi system. When you connect to any other Wi-Fi system - even if you are on campus - you will be prompted to login.

The other possibility is that you tried to access the database by Googling it and going directly to the database Website. To access the database with your Bowie credentials, you must go through the Bowie library Webpage.