LibGuides: Culturally Responsive Teacher Leadership: Find Articles & Databases

Education Databases

By using OneSearch you will be able to search Education and Sociology databases at the same time.

The following Content Providers will be most often used for Culturally Responsive Teacher and Leadership:

ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to information from journals included in the Current Index of Journals in Education and Resources in Education Index. ERIC provides full text of more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 1000 educational and education-related journals.
Professional Development Collection This link opens in a new window
Educator resources. The database provides a highly specialized collection of electronic information especially for professional educators.
This database contains author names with and without full first names. To find all authors with the last name 'Smith' and the first name 'Richard', you may want to search on 'Smith, Richard' OR 'Smith, R' in the Author field.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A full-text research database covering sociology including gender studies, criminal justice, social psychology, religion, racial studies, and social work with extensive indexing for books, monographs, conference papers and other non-periodical content sources.
Teacher's Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator trade journals to assist professional educators. These are NOT peer-reviewed. Helpful when planning classroom instruction.

OneSearch (EBSCO)

OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service)
Available on the Bowie State University Library E-Resources page. An all inclusive search solution that makes in depth research easy. --EBSCO

Tips:

Use the down arrow key to select title and input keywords in the "title" box. The results you receive will tend to be the primary focus of the academic article or book.
- Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals)
- Publication Date 2017-2023

Tip: When searching use the down arrow key to select title and input Key words in the "title" box. The results you receive will tend to be the primary focus of the academic article or book.

Sample search using NOT to drop unneeded articles:

Search "public leadership" AND "public education".

To avoid looking through sources that do not apply to "Pre K-12" education use the NOT search.

When you see the results many health-related topics do not apply. Add NOT "health" to the search.

Next there were many higher education topics. Add NOT "higher education" to the search.

And finally, not all higher education articles dropped off. Add NOT "universities" to the search.

How to Request USMAI Books Online