Elementary school is defined as a period of formal education following pre-school but before high school. It usually encompasses grades 1-8 and students learn basic skills in areas such as reading, writing and math. --From Your Dictionary
Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
In Teachers as Decision Makers: Responsive Guided Reading Instruction, Robin Griffith draws on years of research and countless interactions with students and teachers to present a framework of instructional decision making centered on the readers we work with, the books we share with them, and the instructional objectives we guide them toward. In this fresh look at the instructional choices we make, Griffith offers an in-depth guide in which you'll discover how to make effective, student-driven decisions, both while planning for and in the moments of teaching at the guided reading table, including: The Teacher Decision Making Framework, grounded in the learner, the goal, and the text Direct applications across three guided reading text level bands: Emergent, Early, and Transitional Tables, charts, and reproducible materials for easy reference in assessing and monitoring key reading behaviors at each band 50 quick reference Decision Guides for practical planning and responding in three instructional areas: Word Solving, Fluency and Expression, and Comprehension Whether you're new to guided reading or looking to refine your practice, this practical resource will give you the tools you need to elevate your instruction and refine your ability to make effective decisions when teaching young readers.