LibGuides: ENGL 102 Argument and Research: Find Articles & Databases

English Articles & Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides 5,215 active, full-text, non-open access journals and magazines, 4,561 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals, 2,512 active, full-text, peer-reviewed, non-open access journals with no embargo, and 3,078 active, full-text, non-open access journals indexed in Web of Science or Scopus.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Provides scholarly journal articles, peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, technical reports and preprints from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
Humanities Abstracts (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more. Content includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews. Coverage from 1980 to current.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains millions of citations from journals and series, as well as book publishers. Covers literature, language and linguistics, folklore, film, literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
A full text collection of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose with complementary criticism and reference resources. Includes English poetry from the 8th century to the present, American, African-American and Canadian poetry from 1603 to the present, The Faber Poetry Library, English fiction from the sixteenth to the nineteenth century, American fiction from 1789-1875, non-fictional literary prose in English from the 16th to the early 20th centuries, English drama from 1280 to 1915, and American drama from 1762 to 1860. authors.
Criticism and reference works include the MHRA's Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature with links to the complete full text of over 100 literature journals, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms, The Encyclopedia of Post-Colonial Literatures in English, the Columbia Dictionary of Modern Literary and Cultural Criticism, the Encyclopedia of American Poetry: The Nineteenth Century, the Encyclopedia of the Novel, the New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics, The Columbia Companion to the Twentieth-Century American Short Story, The Columbia Dictionary of Modern European Literature, the King James Bible, links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 1,380 authors, and biographies for nearly 2,000 of the most-studied authors.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Provides 1300 main essays, leading political magazines from all sides of the political spectrum, newspapers, radio and TV news transcripts, primary source documents and reference books. Contains 343 topics, each with overview, point, and counterpoint. Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis.

OneSearch (EBSCO) and Catalog USMAI

OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service)
Available on the Bowie State University Library E-Resources page. An all inclusive search solution that makes in depth research easy. --EBSCO

Tips:

Use the down arrow key to select title and input keywords in the "title" box. The results you receive will tend to be the primary focus of the academic article or book.
Refine search using these left navigation options
- Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals)
- Publication Date 2017-2022

How to Request USMAI Books Online