LibGuides: English: Background Information

Background Information

An English major will develop close reading and critical writing skills while examining literature's connections to culture, history and other fields of study. In addition to studying notable works, English majors spend time building their own voices. --U.S. News and World Report

OED (Oxford English Dictionary) This link opens in a new window
Complete text of the 20-volume 2nd edition of the Oxford English Dictionary (1989), plus its 3-volume Additions Series (1993, 1997).
Comprehensive dictionary of the English language. Traces development of English from approximately 1150 AD up to present day. Includes many varieties of English.

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box