LibGuides: FINA 222 Personal Finance: Background Information

Background Information

Personal finance is a term that covers managing your money as well as saving and investing. It encompasses budgeting, banking, insurance, mortgages, investments, retirement planning, and tax and estate planning. The term often refers to the entire industry that provides financial services to individuals and households and advises them about financial and investment opportunities. --Investopedia

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box

Investopedia Personal Finance
Investopedia was founded in 1999 with the mission of simplifying financial decisions and information to give readers the confidence to manage every aspect of their financial life.

Our millions of readers come to us from all over the world and from all walks of life. Some are learning about money and investing for the first time, while others are experienced investors, business owners, professionals, financial advisors, and executives looking to improve their knowledge and skills. No matter who they are, we are here to help.

Investopedia is a part of the Dotdash publishing family.