LibGuides: Finance: Background Information

Background Information

Finance-- money used by a company, provided by shareholders or by loans or the business of managing money. -Dictionary of Banking and Finance

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box

Money, Finance, Reality, Morality: A New Way to Address Old Problems by Edward Hadas
ISBN: 9781804410264
Publication Date: 09/12/2022https://proxy-bs.researchport.umd.edu/login?url=https://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=nlebk&AN=3385019&scope=site
The standard theory of finance is hampered by the lack of both sociological and ethical contextualization, and by sloppy thinking about numbers and time. Money, Finance, Reality, Morality addresses those weaknesses with truly novel models of how the economy, money, and finance actually work.