LibGuides: Mathematics: Background Information

Background Information

Mathematics is the science of space, number, quantity, and arrangement, whose methods involve logical reasoning and usually the use of symbolic notation, and which includes geometry, arithmetic, algebra, and analysis; mathematical operations or calculations. --Oxford English Dictionary

The Words of Mathematics by Steven Schwartzman
ISBN: 9780883855119
Publication Date: 1996-09-05

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box

Arguing with Numbers by James Wynn (Editor); G. Mitchell Reyes (Editor)
ISBN: 9780271088815
Publication Date: 2021-04-15
Contributors examine how concepts of rhetoric--such as analogy and visuality--have been employed in mathematical and scientific reasoning, including in the theorems of mathematical physicists and the geometrical diagramming of natural scientists.

Mathematics Sub-Class QA (second floor of Thurgood Marshall Library)

QA1-43 General

QA47-59 Tables

QA71-90 Instruments and machines

QA75-76.95 Calculating machines

QA75.5-76.95 Electronic computers. Computer science

QA76.75-76.765 Computer software

QA101-(145) Elementary mathematics. Arithmetic

QA150-272.5 Algebra

QA273-280 Probabilities. Mathematical statistics

QA299.6-433 Analysis

QA440-699 Geometry. Trigonometry. Topology

QA801-939 Analytic mechanics