LibGuides: ART 200 African Art: Past and Present: Background Information

Background Information

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Africana by Henry Louis Gates (Editor); Kwame Anthony Appiah (Editor)
Call Number: Reference DT14 .A37435 2005
ISBN: 9780195170559
Publication Date: 2005-04-07
Africana by Henry Louis Gates; Kwame Anthony Appiah
Call Number: Reference DT14 .A37435 1999
ISBN: 0465000711
Publication Date: 1999-10-27

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box

Home Definition and Dictionary for Art

Art, also called (to distinguish it from other art forms) visual art, a visual object or experience consciously created through an expression of skill or imagination. The term art encompasses diverse media such as painting, sculpture, printmaking, drawing, decorative arts, photography, and installation. --Britannica

The Oxford Dictionary of Art by Ian Chilvers (Editor)
Call Number: Reference N33 .O93 2004
ISBN: 0198604769
Publication Date: 2004-06-10