LibGuides: Computer Science: Background Information

Background Information

Definition of Computer Science

Computer Science occupies a unique position among the scientific and technical disciplines. It revolves around a specific artifact-- the electronic digital computer-- that touches upon a broad and diverse set of fields in its design, operation, and application. As a result, computer science represents a synthesis and extension of many different areas of mathematics, science, engineering, and business. --Credo Reference Computer Science

The Hutchinson Dictionary of Computing and the Internet
ISBN: 1417508876
Publication Date: 2004-01-01

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors

Advances in Parallel Computing Algorithms, Tools and Paradigms by D. J. Hemanth (Editor); T. N. Nguyen (Editor); J. Indumathi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781643683140
Publication Date: 2022-11-23
Recent developments in parallel computing for various fields of application are providing improved solutions for handling data. These newer, innovative ideas offer the technical support necessary to enhance intellectual decisions, while also dealing more efficiently with the huge volumes of data currently involved.This book presents the proceedings of ICAPTA 2022, the International Conference on Advances in Parallel Computing Technologies and Applications, hosted as a virtual conference from Bangalore, India, on 27 and 28 January 2022. The aim of the conference was to provide a forum for the sharing of knowledge about various aspects of parallel computing in communications systems and networking, including cloud and virtualization solutions, management technologies and vertical application areas.
Artificial Intelligence and Software Testing by Adam Leon Smith (Editor); Rex Black; James Davenport; Joanna Olszewska; Jeremias Rößler; Jonathon Wright
ISBN: 9781780175782
Publication Date: 2022-03-10
This book, aimed at testing and quality management practitioners who want to understand more, covers trustworthiness of AI and the complexities of testing machine learning systems, before pivoting to how AI can be used itself in software test automation.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box