LibGuides: Financial Literacy: Background Information

Background Information

Financial literacy is the ability to understand and effectively use various financial skills, including personal financial management, budgeting, and investing. Financial literacy is the foundation of your relationship with money, and it is a lifelong journey of learning. The earlier you start, the better off you will be because education is the key to success when it comes to money. --Investopedia

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box

Money Market, Credo Reference

Earning, Saving, and Investing by Sue Bradford Edwards
ISBN: 9781532172366
Publication Date: 2019-08-01
Earning, Saving, and Investing examines how people can find work that fits their interests, budget their income, and use investment options to help them make more money.
Financial Literacy and Financial Education by Beata Świecka; Aleksandra Grzesiuk; Dieter Korczak; Olga Wyszkowska-Kaniewska
ISBN: 9783110636956
Publication Date: 2019-03-18
It is a well-known saying that money does not buy happiness. But it certainly helps in life. It is important to have enough of it to satisfy our needs and to secure ourselves from emergency situations. That's what adults think. And what about the youth? What is their approach to money, what do they know about finances and how are their skills in everyday financial management coming along? What kind of knowledge and skills should be provided? Do young people in different countries represent similar or different approaches to financial matters? Using the results of a research on young people in Poland and Germany, the authors draw a picture of financial literacy.