LibGuides: Internet of Things (IoT): Internet Technology Discovery

Internet Technology Discovery

Concurrent Data Collection Trees for IoT Applications
Internet of Things (IoT) systems comprise massive volumes of smart devices. Through exchanges of information, smart objects are capable of reasoning and generate higher level of intelligence. The effectiveness of data collection processes is a key factor to the success of IoT systems as it can seriously affect the freshness of the captured data. Efficient data collection processes have been well studied on sensory systems with static topologies and single data extraction point. Smart devices in IoT systems are often shared by different parties; therefore, concurrent data collection processes are always expected (Cheng et al., 2019).
Smart IoT Data Collection
Presents and experimentally evaluate procedures for efficient IoT data collection while achieving target requirements in terms of data accuracy and privacy protection. The procedures adjust the time period between consecutive measurements following an additive increase and multiplicative decrease (AIMD) scheme based on a target data accuracy and add noise to measurements using differential privacy techniques. The experimental evaluation involves real temperature and humidity measurements obtained from two testbeds through the FIESTA-IoT platform (Fotiou et al., 2018).
Data Collection in Studies on Internet of Things (IoT), Wireless Sensor Networks (WSNs), and Sensor Cloud (SC): Similarities and Differences
Data collection is an essential part of sensor devices, particularly in such technologies like Internet of Things (IoT), wireless sensor networks (WSN), and sensor cloud (SC). In recent years, various literature had been published in these research areas to propose different models, architectures, and contributions in the domains (Ali et al, 2022).
A Data Compression and Storage Optimization Framework for IoT Sensor Data in Cloud Storage
The paper presents a multi-layered data compression framework that reduces the amount of data before being stored in cloud. At present, Internet of Things (IoT) has gained noticeable attention due to the approaches and advancements towards smart city aspects. With increasing number of devices and sensors connected to the Internet, tremendous amount of data is being generated at every moment which requires volumes of storage space to be stored. However, Data compression techniques can reduce the size of the data and the storage requirement by compressing the data more efficiently. In this article we introduced a two layered compression framework for IoT data that reduces the amount of data with maintaining minimum error rate as well as avoiding bandwidth wastage (Hossain & Roy, 2018).

Bibliography

Ali, I., Ahmedy, I., Gani, A., Munir, M. U., & Anisi, M. H. (2022). Data Collection in Studies on Internet of Things (IoT), Wireless Sensor Networks (WSNs), and Sensor Cloud (SC): Similarities and Differences. IEEE Access, 10, 33909–33931. https://doi.org/10.1109/ACCESS.2022.3161929

Cheng, C.-T., Ganganath, N., & Fok, K.-Y. (2017). Concurrent Data Collection Trees for IoT Applications. IEEE Transactions on Industrial Informatics, 13(2), 793–799. https://doi.org/10.1109/TII.2016.2610139

Fotiou, N., Siris, V. A., Mertzianis, A., & Polyzos, G. C. (2018). Smart IoT Data Collection. 2018 IEEE 19th International Symposium on “A World of Wireless, Mobile and Multimedia Networks” (WoWMoM), 588–599. https://doi.org/10.1109/WoWMoM.2018.8449766

Hossain, K., & Roy, S. (2018). A Data Compression and Storage Optimization Framework for IoT Sensor Data in Cloud Storage. 2018 21st International Conference of Computer and Information Technology (ICCIT), 1–6. https://doi.org/10.1109/ICCITECHN.2018.8631929

Resources on IoT Discovery
This link provides several resources on IoT Discovery

Energy Conservation for IOT Devices by Mittal, Mamta
ISBN: 9789811373992

Publication Date: 2019
Recent Advancement of IoT Devices in Pollution Control and Health Applications by Swapnila Roy (Editor); Tien Anh Tran (Editor); Karthikeyan Natarajan (Editor)
ISBN: 9780323958776

Publication Date: 2023-01-13

Recent Advancement of IoT Devices in Pollution Control and Health Applications covers current developments in Internet of Things (IoT)-based pollution control, solid waste management, transportation, and healthcare systems. Because of its effects on physical and biological entities of the environment, the issue of environmental pollution and action has become a global concern. This guide highlights how environmental and health data from connected devices can be stored, analyzed, and eventually used--from developing indices for the state of environmental pollution, to diagnosing and treating patients and the role of IoT-based technology for pollution control. Covers current developments in the field of Internet of Things (IoT)-based pollution control Discusses the application of the Internet of Things (IoT) to monitoring industrial pollution from emissions, solid waste, and healthcare Offers solutions for managing and mitigating the causes of pollution
Self-Powered Wearable IoT Devices for Health and Activity Monitoring by Ganapati Bhat; Ujjwal Gupta; Yigit Tuncel; Fatih Karabacak; Sule Ozev; Umit Y. Ogras
ISBN: 9781680837483

Publication Date: 2020-11-19

Wearable devices have the potential to transform multiple facets of human life, including healthcare, activity monitoring, and interaction with computers. At the same time, a number of technical and adaption challenges hinder widespread and daily usage of wearable devices. Recent research efforts have focused on identifying these challenges and solving them such that the potential of wearable devices can be realized. In this monograph, the authors guide the reader through the state-of-the-art of wearable devices, detailing the challenges that researchers and designers face in achieving wide-adoption of the technology throughout society. The authors also identify the application areas where these devices are most likely to gain acceptance. They point the way to overcoming these challenges by detailing the recent advances in providing physically flexible designs, the energy management for such designs and finally consider some of the security and privacy aspects of wearable devices such that user compliance can be improved. This monograph serves as a comprehensive resource for challenges and solutions towards self-powered wearable devices for health and activity monitoring.

Journal Articles on Internet Technology Discovery