Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

E-Books at Bowie State

This guide provides instructions and tips on how to find and use e-Books in Bowie's Thurgood Marshall Library collection.

E-Books at Bowie

The Bowie Thurgood Marshall Library has two e-book collections:

  • EBSCO eBook Collection 
  • EBL: Ebook Library
 

The  EBSCO eBook Collection  is Bowie’s exclusive e-book collection. It contains about 10,000 titles. 

  • Login may or may not be required for on-campus use depending upon the computer or mobile device and location. Login is required for off-campus use.
  • Titles in the eBook Collection are searchable using the Catalog USMAI or OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service)
  • Access the collection through Research Port to browse or search for titles
  • Hosted by EBSCOhost and employs typical EBSCOhost design and search features 
  • Generous amount of time to browse a title, no check-out required
  • Once logged into Research Port, may print, download and/or email a limited number of pages from a book without checking it out
  • May read books online with an Internet browser or download to read offline 
  • Formats of titles will vary - PDF, EPub, or both
The EBL Library is a collection shared by the USMAI libraries. It contains over 25,000 titles.
  • Login is required from any location on- or off-campus 
  • Titles in the EBL Library collection are searchable using the Catalog USMAI or OneSearch (EBSCO Discovery Service)
  • May browse or search for books directly within the EBL Library collection
  • A limited amount of time (about 5 minutes) is allowed to browse a title before being prompted to check the book out
  • Allowed to print a limited number of pages from books that have been checked out
  • May read books online with an Internet browser or download to read offline 
  • Formats of titles will vary - PDF, EPub, or both