LibGuides: Art: Background Information

Background Information

Art, also called (to distinguish it from other art forms) visual art, a visual object or experience consciously created through an expression of skill or imagination. The term art encompasses diverse media such as painting, sculpture, printmaking, drawing, decorative arts, photography, and installation. --Britannica

Living with Art by Mark Getlein
Call Number: Bulldog Book Bank N7477 .G55 2016
ISBN: 9780073379319
Publication Date: 2015-10-09
Available for a three-hour loan ask at the circulation desk in the Thurgood Marshall Library.
The Oxford Dictionary of Art by Ian Chilvers (Editor)
Call Number: Reference N33 .O93 2004
ISBN: 0198604769
Publication Date: 2004-06-10
The Edinburgh Dictionary of Modernism by Vassiliki Kolocotroni (Editor); Olga Taxidou (Editor)
ISBN: 9780748637027
Publication Date: 2018-01-16

Background information is encyclopedia information that provides context for future studies but is not included or cited in academic writing.

Britannica This link opens in a new window
Contains the full-text of the 32-volume Encyclopædia Britannica (plus thousands of additional articles and images not available in the print set); Webster's Third New International Dictionary Unabridged; and the Britannica Book of the Year. EB Online also features a searchable Internet directory including over 130,000 links to web sites selected, rated, and reviewed by Britannica editors
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Online collection of dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks for all subjects includes images, video, topic page, and mind mapping.
Boolean OR and NOT searches are not supported. If the Boolean OR or NOT is selected, only the first search box

3D Printing for Artists, Designers and Makers by Stephen Hoskins
ISBN: 9781474248679
Publication Date: 2018-02-08
Fully revised and with a new chapter and international case studies, this second edition of the best-selling book traces how artists and designers continue to adapt and incorporate 3D printing technology into their work and explains how the creative industries are directly interfacing with this new technology. Covering a broad range of applied art practice - from fine art and furniture-design to film-making - Stephen Hoskins introduces some of his groundbreaking research from the Centre for Fine Print Research along with an updated history of 3D print technology, a new chapter on fashion and animation, and new case studies featuring artists working with metal, plastic, ceramic and other materials. A fascinating investigation into how the applied arts continue to adapt to new technologies and a forecast of what developments we might expect in the future, this book is essential reading for students, researchers studying contemporary art and design and professionals involved in the creative industries.