Skip to Main Content

BSU Discovery: Navigating BSU Discovery

BSU Discovery Ribbon

Journal Search allows you to look for specific journals

If you are curious if a journal is owned by Thurgood Marshall Library, this tool allows you to find out!

Citation Linker allows you to find a resource using citation information!

Have you ever found a useful article in a bibliography, but couldn't find it? Use Citation Linker to streamline your search process. 

Save your resources using the pin feature!

This is an excellent tool to save your work! You can also add labels to your favorites to help keep research organized. 

This is a screenshot of the BSU Discovery ribbon focused on A-Z Databases tab. Getting to A-Z Databases: Click the picture to see A-Z Databases Guide

Getting to A-Z Databases: Click the picture to see A-Z Databases Guide

Conduct specialized searches in individual databases. Search by subject, database type, or vendor!

Find a Database in A to Z Databases

Easy Steps to Finding a Database

1.  Bowie Website + Library + Research / A to Z Databases

2.  Choose a database from the alphabetical list or use the drop-down menus to choose by SUBJECT or TYPES. If you don’t know which one to choose, try one of these:

  • ABI/Inform
  • Academic Search Complete
  • Credo

3.  Click on the database of your choice

4.  In the database search box, type in your keywords.

TIPS FOR BEST RESULTS

  • Searches are not case-sensitive; it’s okay to use upper- or lower-case letters.
  • Spelling matters
  • Use keywords or short keyword phrases – avoid complete sentences.
  • Use filters to narrow your results.  Common filters are: publication date, full-text, scholarly (peer-reviewed), subject, and so forth.
  • Not enough results or too many irrelevant results? Try a different database.