Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections Department: Special Collections

Home to the historical records of Bowie State University, including publications and photographs. Here you'll also find Special Collections materials such as rare books, manuscript collections, records of local organizations, vertical files, and ephemera.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Please contact the Library Office at 301.860.3850

 

What You Will Find in Special Collections

What are "Special Collections"?

These are all other materials that are NOT created by Bowie State University. Contents may include rare books or reference books, manuscript collections from organizations or people, vertical files, documents, pamphlets. They may be about Bowie State University, or about local history or any topic that reflects our mission statement and collecting policy.

RARE BOOKS & MARYLAND HISTORY BOOK COLLECTIONS

For Rare Books and our reference collection of books on Maryland history, please search in CatalogUSMAI. Select the Advanced Search option, and under "location", select "special collections".

PERSONAL & ORGANIZATIONAL COLLECTIONS

Some records and papers of organizations and individuals from the region can be found here. PLEASE NOTE: Some of these collections are not processed, so the dates are approximate. Inquire for more information.

OTHER MATERIALS IN SPECIAL COLLECTIONS

REFERENCE COLLECTION

We have vertical files of materials relating to Bowie State University, the local community, Maryland, and African American History.Vertical files are arranged alphabetically and include Biographical Files, Institution Histories, and Subject files.

Popular Sheet Music Collection

We hold a small collection (45 items) of popular sheet music dating from 1896-1930. Most of these have colorful printed art covers. Please see the list of titles here: