Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections Department: Using Archives & Special Collections

Home to the historical records of Bowie State University, including publications and photographs. Here you'll also find Special Collections materials such as rare books, manuscript collections, records of local organizations, vertical files, and ephemera.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Please contact the Library Office at 301.860.3850

 

BSU Views

What To Expect

If you have never used primary sources (the materials you find in Archives & Special Collections), please see "Using Archives: A Guide to Effective Research."

Bowie State University Archives and Special Collections is open to all, by appointment only please. We ask for a Researcher Information form to be filled out and signed prior to using any materials. This signifies that you have read and agree to the policies in place for using our collections. We can email you a copy of this form, and other information, prior to your visit.

Call or email for an appointment before visiting. Discuss your research needs with staff in advance to be sure we have what you need, and that it is ready for your use.

Only pencils are allowed when using any of the materials. You may use a laptop or tablet, and you may photograph documents. Please be advised: We currently have no photocopier on site. 

Photographic Reproductions: At this time we can scan photographs or documents for you according to a pre-arranged schedule. Please bring a flash drive for downloading any scans that have already been made. Photocopies can be made by staff as time allows, on a case-by-case basis. Large volumes of documents may be photocopied instead of scanned.

Citations: Please credit all use of materials in print, online, or in exhibits: “Courtesy of Bowie State University, Thurgood Marshall Library, Archives and Special Collections”. For specific collections, cite as: [Collection Name], Box [x], Bowie State University, Thurgood Marshall Library, Archives and Special Collections.

Parking on Campus: Please review parking rules on the Bowie State University web site. See the link to the campus map and the instructions at the very bottom of this web page: