Skip to main content

Archives & Special Collections Department: University Archives

Home to the historical records of Bowie State University, including publications and photographs. Here you'll also find Special Collections materials such as rare books, manuscript collections, records of local organizations, vertical files, and ephemera.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Please contact the Library Office at 301.860.3850

 

University Archives

Records of Bowie State University colleges, divisions, academic departments, offices, special projects, and more. Most collections are unprocessed; restrictions on access may apply. Please see the collection guide or inquire for more information.

  • Office of the President, 1982-2005 (AR-007). Unprocessed with many restricted files. 

University Publications Inventories

These are printed materials created by Bowie State University, about Bowie State University. If you are curious as to the contents of each collection, please click on the PDF links to see an inventory of each collection. The PDF file will open in a new window or tab. Please note that the inventories are only a list of the items in the collection.

Early Student Newspapers ONLINE!

Now online, the College Eye (1935-1967) and The Ebony Tree (1968-1978)!

In honor of the 150th anniversary of Bowie State University’s founding in 1865, all currently held editions of the Normal Eye/College Eye/College Ear, the earliest student newspaper held in the Bowie State University Archives, and The Ebony Tree, its successor, are available online in PDF format.

Help us complete our files! We are grateful for any loans or gifts of missing issues. If you have questions or problems with any of these files, please contact the Archives.

Click on the links below to view issues of The College Eye and The Ebony Tree.

Images from University Archives

Poster for football game between Maryland Normal & Industrial School at Bowie's Bulls and the "Royal A.C.’s,  the strongest colored team in Indianapolis"

[from http://historicindianapolis.com/the-little-known-reason​-indys-superbowl-is-overdue/ ], 1937.