Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Archives & Special Collections Department: Photograph Collection

Home to the historical records of Bowie State University, including publications and photographs. Here you'll also find Special Collections materials such as rare books, manuscript collections, records of local organizations, vertical files, and ephemera.

Our History in Images

The photograph collection covers the early history of Bowie State University, as well as Presidents; Speakers and Visitors; Faculty and Staff; Students; Alumni; Athletics; Department Events; Campus Activities; Presidents and Notable Visitors; and Buildings and Grounds.  Please see our online collection of 44 historic images at the HBCU Library Alliance Digital Collections, or inquire for more information.

Bowie State College becomes a University and part of the University of Maryland System, July 1, 1988. Bowie President Dr. James E. Lyons Sr. is standing, far left.

Students at Play: F O O T B A L L ! ! !

Homecoming fans at pep rally, 2000Homecoming Fans at the game, 2000

Images of a Homecoming Pep Rally, and students at the game, Fall 2000

Homecoming is one of the largest events of the fall semester. Students and alumni gather and cheer on the BSU Bulldogs in their quest for a win. Football wasn't always a part of student life, and only came to the campus in the mid-1970s. In 1979 Bowie joined the College Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA), an NCAA Division II Conference.

1986 Homecoming Sign

Homecoming sign for 1986 between Bowie State College and North Carolina Central University.

1997 Homecoming cheerleadersBulldog fan with mascot, 1997

Cheerleaders and Bulldog fan with mascot, 1997

 

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Please contact the Library Office at 301.860.3850