LibGuides: Criminal Justice/ Special Topics, CRJU 410-001: Quantitative and Qualitative Research

Examples of a Quantitative Research Report

Quantitative Research Examples:

Wright, A. C., (2013). The Structure of Psychopathology: Toward an Expanded Quantitative Empirical Model. Journal Of Abnormal Psychology, 122(1), 281-294. doi:10.1037/a0030133 This can be found in Criminal Justice Abstracts Database.

Family Violence in Canada: A Statistical Profile
Published by authority of the Minister responsible for Statistics Canada © Minister of Industry, 2011. Catalogue no. 85-224-X.
Attitudinal Survey on Violence Against Women Final Report
Prepared for: Province of New Brunswick Executive Council Office Date: May 31, 2002. This report provides an overview of the results of the Attitudinal Survey on Violence Against Women conducted by Decima Research Inc. on behalf of the Government of New Brunswick’s Executive Council Office. The results are based on a telephone survey conducted between March 11 and 23, 2002 with a random and proportionate sample of 458 adults in New Brunswick.

Interpreting Quantitative Data

Wang, L., Watts, A. S., Anderson, R. A., & Little, T. D. (2013). Common fallacies in quantitative research methodology. In T. D. Little (Ed.) , The Oxford handbook of quantitative methods (Vol 2): Statistical analysis (pp. 718-758). New York, NY, US: Oxford University Press. pp.718-758, 765, xviii. [Chapter], Database: PsycINFO in Research Port. Subjects: Methodology; Quantitative Methods; Statistical Analysis.

Black, T. R. (1999). Doing quantitative research in the social sciences: An integrated approach to research design, measurement and statistics. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications Ltd.pp.751, xiv., Database: PsycINFO in Research Port. Subjects: Experimental Design; Experimentation; Measurement; Social Sciences; Statistical Analysis.

Kitao, S. (1991). Principles of Quantitative Research. 22 pp. (ED333755), Database: ERIC. Subjects: Data Interpretation; Educational Research; Foreign Countries; Language Research; Research Design; Research Methodology; Research Problems.

Freese, Jeremy. Replication Standards for Quantitative Social Science. Sociological Methods & Research. Nov2007, Vol. 36 Issue 2, p153-172. 20p. Abstract: The credibility of quantitative social science benefits from policies that increase confidence that results reported by one researcher can be verified by others. Database: Criminal Justice Abstracts Subjects: REPLICATION (Experimental design); DATA libraries; DATA warehousing; COMPUTERS in the social sciences; SOCIAL science research; INFORMATION sharing; QUANTITATIVE research.

Example of a Qualitative Research Report

Qualitative Research Example

Printable PDF document

Hand Drumming: Health-Promoting Experiences of Aboriginal Women from a Northern Ontario Urban Community
Principal author: Ghislaine Goudreau, PHE, MSc, c/o Centre for Health Promotion Studies, School of Public Health, University of Alberta
ABSTRACT
Over the past 10 years, Aboriginal women from a northern Ontario urban community have been gathering to hand drum as a way to revive their culture and support one another. As a member of an Aboriginal women’s hand-drumming circle called the Waabishki Mkwaa (White Bear) Singers, I had a vision of exploring the connection between hand-drumming practices and health promotion, and was the primary researcher for the study described in this article. Adhering to Aboriginal protocols as part of an Indigenous research methodology, I offered traditional tobacco to members of the Waabishki Mkwaa Singers, as an invitation for them to be both co-researchers and participants in the study. In accepting the tobacco, the members agreed to help facilitate the research process, as well as to journal their experiences of the process and of their own hand-drumming practices. Using an Aboriginal Women’s Hand Drumming (AWHD) Circle of Life framework—a framework developed by the co-researchers of the study—we explored the physical, mental, spiritual, and emotional benefits of Aboriginal women’s hand-drumming practices, and examined how culture and social support networks are key determinants of Aboriginal women’s health. Results of the qualitative analysis show that the Aboriginal women’s involvement in and-drumming circles has many health promoting benefits and builds on strengths already existent within their community. Through their experiences with hand drumming, the women reported gaining a voice and a sense of holistic healing, empowerment, renewal, strength and Mino-Bimaadiziwin (“good life”). These findings are consistent with evolving Aboriginal perspectives on health promotion.

Interpreting Qualitative Data

Clarkea, Anthony. Lifting a corner of the research rug: a case for meta-interviews in qualitative studies. Teaching and Teacher Education Volume 17, Issue 7, October 2001, Pages 773–782. DOI: 10.1016/S0742-051X(01)00031-2. Abstract: The degree to which knowledge can be abstracted from the situations in which it is constructed has received criticism in recent years. There is growing awareness of the importance of the interrelationship between the content of what is said and the context in which it is said. Some researchers contend that if we ignore the situated nature of cognition, we defeat our own goal of providing robust, useful knowledge. What are the implications of such a claim for the practice of educational research? More specifically, what are the implications for the conduct of interview-based studies in which researchers derive knowledge claims from participants’ responses? In this paper, we describe and illustrate the use of “meta-interviews”, a research strategy for enhancing the credibility of the claims made from analysis of interview data. This approach brings to light key contextual issues that are sometimes ‘swept under the rug’ when reporting research results.

Michael Rich, Kenneth R Ginsburg. The reason and rhyme of qualitative research: why, when, and how to use qualitative methods in the study of adolescent health, Journal of Adolescent Health. Volume 25, Issue 6, December 1999, Pages 371-378, ISSN 1054-139X, http://dx.doi.org/10.1016/S1054-139X(99)00068-3.

Burnard, Philip. Writing a qualitative research report : Original Research Article. Nurse Education Today, Volume 24, Issue 3, April 2004, Pages 174-179. Abstract: A research project in nursing or nursing education is probably only complete once the findings have been published. This paper offers a format for writing a qualitative research report for publication. It suggests, at least, the following sections: introduction, aims of the study, review of the literature, sample, data collection methods, data analysis methods, findings, discussion, conclusion, abstract. Each of these sections is addressed along with many written-out examples. In some sections, alternative approaches are suggested. The aim of the paper is to help the neophyte researcher to structure his or her report and for the experienced researcher to reflect on his or her current practice. References to other source material on qualitative research are given.

These articles are found in the Research Port database...ScienceDirect

Database Name: ScienceDirect (Elsevier)
Description: Provides abstracts and indexing for more than 1800 journals. Full text of more than 800 journals is available to USMAI institutions. Some articles are in languages other than English. Coverage: Extensive coverage of the physical and biological sciences, significant numbers of journals in the social sciences, and some journals in the humanities. Time span: Dates of abstracting and indexing vary. Full text begins in 1995 or later.