LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: VISUAL ARTS

VISUAL ARTS (Arts)

Ad*Access
• https://repository.duke.edu/dc/adaccess
• Duke University Libraries
• .edu
more...less...
Provides images and information for over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911-1957 in five main subject areas: Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.
Artcyclopedia.com
• https://www.educationworld.com/awards/past/2000/r0500-12.shtml
• Education World
• .com
more...less...
This site is a comprehensive database of museum-quality fine art that can be viewed on the Internet.
Art History Resources
• http://arthistoryresources.net/
• Dr. Christopher L.E.C. Whitcombe, founder/owner
• .net
more...less...
Index to art history Websites with access to images. Includes art from the various continents, prehistoric to contemporary times, as well as prints and photography.
Art Terms - Tate's Online Glossary
• https://www.tate.org.uk/art/art-terms
• Tate's Museums of Art
• .org - United Kingdom
more...less...
Contains definitions, most with illustrations, of over 400 terms including artist groups and art movements, techniques, media and other art jargon.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Arts
• https://doaj.org/subjects
• Managed by Infrastructure Services for Open Access C.I.C. - U.K.
• .org
more...less...
Provides access to peer-reviewed open-access journals in Fine Arts (and other subjects).
Europeana
• http://www.europeana.eu/portal/
• Europeana Foundation, co-funded by the European Union
• .ed (Europe)
more...less...
Provides a single access point to millions of books, paintings, films, museum objects and archival records that have been digitized throughout Europe. It is an authoritative source of information coming from European cultural and scientific institutions.
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
• http://images.google.com/hosted/life
• Google
• .com
more...less...
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive. Most were never published and are now available for the first time through the joint work of LIFE and Google.
Museum of Contemporary Photography (MoCP)
• http://www.mocp.org/
• Columbia College Chicago
• .org
more...less...
Provides free Web access to the permanent collection of more than10,000 photographs and photography-related objects. Search by artist’s name or artwork title; browse by materials and photographic print media or a subject list of artists.
Photo Study Collection Database
• http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/photo/index.html
• Getty Research Institute
• .edu
more...less...
Available online to all users, this database provides descriptive, non-pictorial records of about half of the photos in the Getty’s Photo Study Collections. Searchable by key word and artist name, the database is particularly useful for searches across periods, styles, and media.
Research Guides and Bibliographies
• http://www.getty.edu/research/tools/guides_bibliographies/
• Getty Research Institute
• .edu
more...less...
Provides descriptive guides with images on selected topics, such as: Artists’ Biographies Research Guide, Frank Lloyd Wright Resources, History of Photography in China, Prints after Poussin, etc.
Researching African-American Photographers
• https://lib.guides.umbc.edu/c.php?g=24919
• University of Maryland at Baltimore County (UMBC), Albin O. Kuhn Library
• .edu
more...less...
Provides selected sources of information aiding research on African American photography. Included are hardcopy catalogued general sources, information sources on individual photographers, and Websites providing additional sources of information.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.