LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: PUBLICATIONS

PUBLICATIONS (American Studies)

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers - African American
A Library of Congress Website.
Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
* https://www.bartleby.com/124/
* Bartleby.com: Great Books Online
* .com
more...less...
Provides free access to the full text of the inaugural addresses of the presidents of the United States from George Washington to Barack Obama. Also includes full text of reference works, literary fiction, poetry, and nonfiction classics now available in the public domain.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides a comprehensive, subject-organized list of open access journals that are peer reviewed. Defines “open access journal” as any which does not charge readers or institutions for access.
Making of America / Cornell Collection
* http://ebooks.library.cornell.edu/m/moa/
* Cornell University Libraries
* .edu
more...less...
Provides primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, science and technology. Collection includes 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles.
Making of America / UM Collection
* http://quod.lib.umich.edu/m/moagrp/
* University of Michigan, Humanities Text Initiative
* .edu
more...less...
Provides access to digitized primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Subject areas include education, psychology, history, sociology, religion, science and technology. Contains approximately 10,000 books and 50,000 journal articles.
Project Gutenberg
Provides thousands of full-text online copies of out-of-copyright works (published pre-1923). Classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries. Search by title, author, or subject.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.