LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: CHILDREN & FAMILIES

CHILDREN & FAMILIES (Social Work & Sociology)

Administration for Children & Families
• http://www.acf.hhs.gov/
• U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
• .gov
more...less...
ACF is a division of the U.S.A. Department of Health & Human Services. ACF promotes the economic and social well-being of families, children, individuals and communities. It addresses the needs, strengths and abilities of vulnerable populations including people with developmental disabilities, refugees and migrants
Children’s Health Insurance Programs – CHIP
• http://www.medicaid.gov/CHIP/CHIP-Program-Information.html
• U.S. Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
• .gov
more...less...
CHIP provides health coverage to nearly 8 million children in families with incomes too high to qualify for Medicaid, but can’t afford private coverage. Signed into law in 1997, CHIP provides federal matching funds to states to provide this coverage.
ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
• https://www.childstats.gov/
• Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
• .gov
more...less...
The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides a summary of national indicators of child well-being in the areas of family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health. It also monitors changes in these indicators over time.
Maternal and Child Health – Title V
• http://mchb.hrsa.gov/
• U. S. Department of Health & Human Services
• .gov
more...less...
Enacted in 1935 as a part of the Social Security Act, the Title V Maternal and Child Health Program is the Nation’s oldest Federal-State partnership. For over 75 years, the Federal Title V Maternal and Child Health program has provided a foundation for ensuring the health of the Nation’s mothers, women, children and youth, including children and youth with special health care needs, and their families.
StopBullying.gov
• http://www.stopbullying.gov/
• U. S. Department of Health & Human Services
• .gov
more...less...
Provides information, videos, a blog, images, and links to resources, laws, and policies about identifying and preventing bullying.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.