LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: FACTS & STATISTICS

FACTS & STATISTICS (Health & Nursing)

ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
• https://www.childstats.gov/
• Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
• .gov
more...less...
The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides a summary of national indicators of child well-being in the areas of family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health. It also monitors changes in these indicators over time.
Drugwatch
• http://www.drugwatch.com/
• Peterson Firm, LLP
• .com
more...less...
Provides the latest facts about prescription drugs and their effects, and continuous updates about research breakthroughs, clinical trials, drug recalls and FDA warnings. Also provides up-to-date information about medical and surgical devices used around the world and their implications for patients.
Hospital Compare
• http://www.medicare.gov/hospitalcompare/search.html
• Medicare.gov, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
• .gov
more...less...
Provides information about how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions or surgical procedures, and results from a survey of patients about the quality of care they received during a recent hospital stay.
Kaiser State Health Facts
• https://kff.org/statedata/
• Kaiser Family Foundation
• .org
more...less...
Provides data on more than 700 health topics, individual state profiles, and comparisons of states on topics such as health coverage & uninsured, minority health, women’s health, HIV/AIDS, health reform, providers & service use, Medicare, Medicaid & CHIP, health costs & budgets, demographics, etc.
National Center for Health Statistics - NCHS
• http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to data and statistical information via an alphabetical index, by topic through “FastStats—Statistics by Topic,” and other features, such as QuickStat of the Week and Data Access. Source citations are included.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH)
• https://nsduhweb.rti.org/respweb/homepage.cfm
• Website jointly sponsored by the private research firm conducting the survey (RTI International) and the government agency sponsor, The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) which is an agency in the U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
• .org
more...less...
The National Survey on Drug Use and Health (NSDUH) provides up-to-date information on tobacco, alcohol, and drug use, mental health and other health-related issues in the United States.
World Health Statistics - WHO
• http://www.who.int/gho/publications/world_health_statistics/en/index.html
• World Health Organization, United Nations
• int
more...less...
Provides an annual World Health Statistics report that presents the most recent health statistics for WHO's 194 Member States.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.