LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: PLANTS

PLANTS (Sciences)

Agricola
• http://agricola.nal.usda.gov/
• National Agricultural Library, U.S. Department of Agriculture
• .gov
more...less...
Online index for locating citations to agriculture literature. Includes citations for journal articles, conference papers, books, audiovisuals, and other resources. May also browse by topics such as: laws & regulations, plants & crops, animals & livestock, research & technology, food & nutrition, etc.
National Indicators Report (Agriculture, USA)
• https://fieldtomarket.org/national-indicators-report-2016/
• Field to Market - a 503(c) non-profit
• .org
more...less...
The National Indicators Report is a peer-reviewed report that analyzes sustainability trends over time for U.S. agriculture, evaluating the conservation and stewardship efforts of our nation's commodity farmers.
Encyclopedia of Life - EOL
• https://eol.org/
• EOL
• .org
more...less...
Provides free access to an international collection of authoritative information and images of life-forms on earth. Sponsored by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History.
International Plant Names Index
• https://www.ipni.org/
• Sponsored jointly by the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew; the Harvard University Herbaria; & the Australian National Herbarium
• .org
more...less...
Provides a freely available database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of seed plants, ferns and lycophytes.
The National Map
• https://www.usgs.gov/core-science-systems/national-geospatial-program/small-scale-data
• U.S. Dept of the Interior, US Geological Survey
• .gov
more...less...
Provides small-scale printable maps of the U.S.A.
PLANTS Database
• http://plants.usda.gov/java/
• United States Department of Agriculture
• .gov
more...less...
Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. Includes scientific and common names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.
Science.gov
• https://www.science.gov/
• Science.gov Alliance, a federal interagency
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to over 60 databases and over 2200 scientific websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative science information.
Vadlo – Life Sciences Search Engine
• http://www.vadlo.com/
• Life in Research, LLC
• .com
more...less...
Provides a search engine designed for biology research. Allows searching from four unique categories: Protocols, Products, Powerpoints, and Bioinformatics Tools & Applications.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.