LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: MARYLAND HISTORY

MARYLAND (American Studies)

Maryland State Archives - Digital Resources
These resources include links to digital publications, special collections, and image collections from the holdings of the Maryland State Archives.
Baltimore Neighborhoods Research Guide
• http://www.prattlibrary.org/locations/maryland/index.aspx?id=29866
• Enoch Pratt Free Library
• .org
more...less...
Provides information and links to resources about the neighborhoods of Baltimore city. Includes demographics, statistics, histories, current and historic maps, neighborhood plans, and so forth.
Local History Resources
• http://lib.guides.umbc.edu/content.php?pid=436143
• Albin O. Kuhn Library & Gallery, University of Maryland, Baltimore County (UMBC)
• .edu
more...less...
This LibGuide provides resources relating to regional Maryland history with an emphasis on Baltimore. Includes contact and collection information for libraries, museums, and archives and highlights select resources based on format.
Maryland City Directories
• http://lib.guides.umd.edu/MDcitydirectories
• Maryland University Libraries
• .edu
more...less...
This library LibGuide provides an index of the print and digital Maryland City Directories available in the Special Collections at the University of Maryland. It also provides links to those directories that have been digitized and are available online.
Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage
• http://www.mdch.org/
• Headquartered at the Enoch Pratt Free Library/ State Resource Center, Baltimore
• .org
more...less...
A digital collection of over 5,000 items, such as maps, manuscripts, photographs, artwork, books, etc. Includes over 45 special collections, such as the: Slave Documents Collection, H. L. Mencken Collection, Edgar Allen Poe Collection, and the 1869 book, Scenes in the Life of Harriet Tubman. Also provides links to other Maryland digital resources.
Maryland History and Culture Bibliography
• http://www.lib.umd.edu/dcr/collections/mdhc/
• University of Maryland Libraries
• .edu
more...less...
Provides citations to articles, books, and doctoral dissertations about various aspects of Maryland's history and culture, divided into a set of standard subject categories. The citations are gathered from scholarly journals, local and state history-related newsletters and magazines, among other sources.
Maryland State Archives
• http://msa.maryland.gov/
• Maryland State Archives
• .gov
more...less...
The State Archives serves as the central depository for government records of permanent value. Its holdings date from Maryland's founding in 1634, and include colonial and state executive, legislative, and judicial records; county probate, land, and court records; church records; business records; state publications and reports; and special collections of private papers, maps, photographs, and newspapers.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.