LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: HISTORY of SCIENCE

HISTORY OF SCIENCE (Sciences)

Center for the History of Microbiology/ ASM Archives
• http://www.asm.org/index.php/choma3
• American Society for Microbiology
• .org
more...less...
The ASM Archives house the records of the Society from its founding in 1899 to the present and various collections relating to the history of microbiology.
Darwin Online
• http://darwin-online.org.uk/
• John van Wyhe, Drector. Sponsored by the Arts & Humanities Research Council
• .org .uk
more...less...
Provides access to Darwin's complete publications, many handwritten manuscripts and the largest Darwin bibliography and manuscript catalogue ever published. There are also over 170 ancillary texts from reference works, reviews, obituaries and more.
ECHO: Exploring & collecting history online
• https://rrchnm.org/echo/
• Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
• .com
more...less...
Echo provides a centralized guide and portal for those seeking websites on the history of science and technology.
Moments of Seeing Further
• http://royalsociety.org/library/moments/
• The Royal Society (a library “Feature”)
• .org
more...less...
Provides images and text of original notes and drawings that capture the moment a significant scientific breakthrough was made.
Project Gutenberg
Provides thousands of full-text online copies of out-of-copyright works (published pre-1923). Classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries. Search by title, author, or subject.
Society for the History of Technology
• http://www.historyoftechnology.org/
• .org
more...less...
SHOT is an international organization that actively works to foster a stronger global community for the study of the history of technology and to support a worldwide network of scholars in this field. We welcome as members people from any country who are interested in the history of technology, broadly defined. The society's quarterly journal, Technology and Culture, is published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. In addition to T&C, SHOT publishes a quarterly newsletter and, jointly with the American Historical Association, a booklet series, Historical Perspectives on Technology, Society, and Culture.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.