A guide to websites that provide authoritative information about 21 subject categories including government & law, history, English, science, facts & statistics, writing & grammar, etc.
Collection of information about Opera and operatic Arias. Includes some sound files and translations as well as information on the complete operatic aria collections of Mozart, Verdi, Berlioz, Wagner, and Puccini
Provides an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals. Full texts of articles are not available from this site, but can be obtained through interlibrary loan. The CMPI database includes over 37 000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day.
This free online-catalogue provides an index of around 700,000 historical music manuscripts. The original sources are available from the libraries, music archives, and private collections as indicated in the RISM database. These institutions can often be approached for reproductions.
International Music Score Library Project is a virtual library of public domain music scores based on the wiki principle.Users can also exchange musical ideas through the site, submit their own compositions, or listen to other people's composition
Provides access to audio recordings, sheet music, and textbooks to the public for free, without copyright restrictions. Allows browsing by composer, performer, instrument, form and time period.
GoogleScholaris a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.
Advantages
It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.
Disadvantages
Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.
