LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: ANCIENT & MEDIEVAL

ANCIENT & MEDIEVAL (History)

AWOL - The Ancient World Online
• http://ancientworldonline.blogspot.com/
• Charles E. Jones
• .com
more...less...
This blog—licensed by Charles E. Jones under a Creative Commons Attribution - Sharealike 3.0 Unported License—provides lists of and links to Open Access Journal articles about the ancient world.
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
• http://inpress.lib.uiowa.edu/feminae/Default.aspx
• Hosted by University of Iowa Libraries
• .edu
more...less...
Covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books by a single author are not indexed. Includes: Children’s Books about Medieval Women and Gender, Encyclopedias and Other Reference Books, and Museum Exhibition Catalogs.
The Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies
• https://blogs.commons.georgetown.edu/labyrinth/
• Deborah Everhart and Martin Irvine, Co-Directors, sponsored by Georgetown University
• .edu
more...less...
Provides access to primarily Web-based resources for medieval topics, arranged by category, subcategory, and type of material.
Monastic Matrix: A scholarly resource for the study of women's religious communities, 400-1600 CE
• https://arts.st-andrews.ac.uk/monasticmatrix/home
• University of Saint Andrews
more...less...
Provides access to primary and secondary sources on religious communities, biographical information on individual men and women important to women's religious history and associated with the communities; a glossary, bibliography, and an image file of related art.
The ORB: Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies
• https://the-orb.arlima.net/
• Hosted by the College of Staten Island
• .net
more...less...
The ORB is an academic site, written and maintained by medieval scholars for the benefit of their fellow instructors and serious students. All articles have been judged by at least two peer reviewers.
Perseus Digital Library
• http://www.perseus.tufts.edu/hopper/
• Gregory R. Crane, Editor-in-Chief, Tufts University
• .edu
more...less...
This digital library includes primary and secondary sources for the study of ancient Greece and Rome as well as Arabic, Germanic, Renaissance, and 19th-Century American historical materials. It also provides free access to the following popular texts in English: Caesar, Gallic War; Catullus, Carmina; Cicero, In Catilinam I; Vergil, Aeneid; Herodotus, Histories; Homer, Odyssey; Plato, Republic; Tom Martin, Overview of Classical Greek History from Mycenae to Alexander. Interactive features includes links to maps of the most frequently mentioned places in the document, links to references for defining or explaining words or terms, keyword search capability within each document, links to scholarly notes or commentaries, and other options.
Project Gutenberg
Provides thousands of full-text online copies of out-of-copyright works (published pre-1923). Classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries. Search by title, author, or subject.
The Story of Africa
• http://www.bbc.co.uk/worldservice/africa/features/storyofafrica/index.shtml
• BBC (British Broadcasting Company)
• .co.uk
more...less...
Africa’s top historians take a fresh look at the events and characters that have shaped the continent from the origins of humankind to the end of South Africn apartheid. Includes timelines and sections about the early history of mankind in Africa, the Nile Valley, and early African Kingdoms. Includes audio material.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.