LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: PHYSICAL SCIENCES

PHYSICAL SCIENCES (Science)

ATSDR Toxic Substances Portal
• http://www.atsdr.cdc.gov/substances/index.asp
• Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
• .gov
more...less...
Provides ToxFAQs: Hazardous Substance Fact Sheets: Frequently asked questions (FAQs) about exposure to hazardous substances found around hazardous waste sites and the effects of exposure on human health.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Biology
* http://www.doaj.org/
* Lund University Libraries
* .org
more...less...
Provides access to peer-reviewed open-access journals in Biology (253), Chemistry (105), Earth & Environment Sciences (117), Ecology (53), Physics (81), and Science [General] (129). Defines “open access journal” as any which does not charge readers or institutions for access.
Discovery & Innovation
• http://science.energy.gov/
• U.S. Dept of Energy (DOE), Office of Science
• .gov
more...less...
Stories, reports, and summaries of important scientific research and discoveries funded by the DOE.
E-Print Network - OSTI
• https://www.osti.gov/
• U.S. Department of Energy
Office of Scientific and Technical Information
• .gov
more...less...
Provides a searchable gateway to over 3+ million Department of Energy research results.
Highwire Press
• http://highwire.stanford.edu/
• Leland Stanford Junior University HighWire Press, Stanford University
• .edu
more...less...
HighWire Press partners with independent scholarly publishers, societies, associations, and university presses to facilitate the digital dissemination of 1773 journals, reference works, books, and proceedings. HighWire also offers a complete manuscript submission, tracking, peer review, and publishing system for journal editors.
The Long Term Ecological Research Network
• www.lternet.edu
• Established by the USA National Science Foundation
• .edu
more...less...
The LTER Network was created by the National Science Foundation (NSF) in 1980 to conduct research on ecological issues that can last decades and span huge geographical areas. Currently, the LTER Data Portal contains over 6000 metadata entries for ecological datasets contributed by 27 past and present LTER sites.
MatWeb: Material Property Data
• http://www.matweb.com/
• MatWeb, LLC.
• .com
more...less...
MatWeb is a searchable database of material data sheets, including property information on polymers and metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys, and ceramics. Properties include: density, hardness, tensile strength, thermal conductivity, etc.
The National Map
• https://www.usgs.gov/core-science-systems/national-geospatial-program/small-scale-data
• U.S. Dept of the Interior, US Geological Survey
• .gov
more...less...
Provides small-scale printable maps of the U.S.A.
Project Gutenberg
Provides thousands of full-text online copies of out-of-copyright works (published pre-1923). Classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries. Search by title, author, or subject.
Public Technical Reports - Defense Technical Information Center, USA
• https://discover.dtic.mil/
• Defense Technical Information Center, U.S. Department of Defense
• .mil
more...less...
Provides access to scientific and technical (S&T) reports conveying results of defense-sponsored research, development, test and evaluation (RDT&E) efforts on a wide range of scientific topic. Includes both citations and many full-text, downloadable documents from mid-1900s to present.
Safety Data Sheet (SDS) FAQ Index
• http://www.ilpi.com/index.html
• Interactive Learning Paradigms, Inc.
• .com
more...less...
Links to free Internet sources for SDS (formerly knows as Material Safety Data Sheets -MSDS) which contain physical data (melting point, boiling point, flash point etc.), toxicity, health effects, first aid, reactivity, storage, disposal, protective equipment, and spill/leak procedures for many substances.
Science.gov
• https://www.science.gov/
• Science.gov Alliance, a federal interagency
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to over 60 databases and over 2200 scientific websites, offering 200 million pages of authoritative science information.
How to Access Other ToxNet information
• https://www.nlm.nih.gov/toxnet/index.html
• U.S. National Library of Medicine
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to PubMed, PubChem, Genetic Toxicology Data Bank (GENE-TOX), Carcinogenic Potency Database (CPDB), Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System (CCRIS), chemical information, comprehensive toxicity information, toxicity literature, developmental toxicology literature, and chemical releases and mapping.
WebElements: The periodic table on the Web
• http://www.webelements.com/
• Mark Winter, copyright holder
• .com
more...less...
Provides free access to a searchable periodic chart of the elements with in-depth information on each: essential data (symbol, atomic number & weight, standard state, DS Registry ID, etc.) properties, uses, history of discovery, chemistry & compounds, etc.
WorldWideScience.org
• https://worldwidescience.org/index.html
• WorldWide Science Alliance, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy
• .org
more...less...
Provides one-stop searching of scientific databases and portals from around the world. Includes access to multilingual scientific literature, and multilingual searching capabilities.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.