LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: Psychology

PSYCHOLOGY Subject Guide

American Psychiatric Association
The American Psychiatric Association, founded in 1844, is the world’s largest psychiatric organization. It is a medical specialty society representing more than 33,000 psychiatric physicians from the United States and around the world. Its member physicians work together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorders, including intellectual disabilities and substance use disorders. The American Psychiatric Association is the voice and conscience of modern psychiatry.
American Psychoanalytic Association - APsaA
APsaA, as a professional organization for psychoanalysts, focuses on education, research and membership development. In addition to the national organization, APsaA’s membership includes 30 accredited training institutes and 39 affiliate societies throughout the United States. Since its founding, APsaA has been a component of the International Psychoanalytical Association.
American Psychological Association
APA is membership association of psychologists, with more than 134,000 researchers, educators, clinicians, consultants and students as its members. The mission of APA is to advance the creation, communication and application of psychological knowledge to benefit society and improve people's lives.
Association for Psychological Science
APS is an international organization dedicated to the advancement of psychological science. It works to increase support for psychological research and to promote the use of science-based psychology in the development of public policy.
APS disseminates science-based psychological information to the public; for example, content from APS journals is often featured in general news publications including Scientific American, The New York Times, and The Wall Street Journal.
Buros Center for Testing: Test Reviews Online
Provides information and citations to reviews of over 3,500 educational and psychological tests and measures that appear in Mental Measurements Yearbooks (MMY), Tests in Print, and Test Critiques. Full reviews are available for purchase.
Careers in Psychology
This Website provides information on psychology careers. Also includes features on psychology degrees, interviews with experts, and psychology apps.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Social Sciences
Provides free online access to more than 7000 peer-reviewed journals and 794,000 articles. Includes journals in Psychology, History, Political Science, Technology, Science, Medicine, Education, etc.
Encyclopedia of Psychology
Helpful definitions and examples of psychology terms and concepts commonly used in both psychology and in mental health.
LGBTQ+ College Student Guide
by intelligent.com
Marky Lloyd's Careers in Psychology Page
The resources on this page focus on: (1) careers in psychology at the bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral level and (2) academic information about psychology at the bachelor’s and graduate levels. Much of this material was developed for use in Careers in Psychology, a one-credit, required course for psychology majors at Georgia Southern University.
Medicare Resources for Mental Health Care
NIH- National Institute of Mental Health
The NIH, National Institute of Mental Health, is a government agency with a website that provides FREE and extensive introductory information and resources on broad mental health topics such as eating disorders, social phobia, and anxiety disorders.
Profiles in Science
A government site sponsored by the National Library of Medicine, this site makes the archival collections of prominent scientists, physicians, and others who have advanced the scientific enterprise available to the public. Collections include documents and materials from such prominent individuals as Virginia Apgar, Julius Axelrod, Rosalind Franklin, C. Everett Koop, Mary Lasker, Salvador E. Luria, Barbara McClintock, Linus Pauling, Maxine Singer, and others.
PsychCentral
Psych Central, whose daily operations are overseen by Dr. Grohol, provides mental health information as well as annotated guides to online resources in mental health, psychology, social work, and psychiatry. It also offers Sanity Score, a free online mental health screening test.
PsychPedia A-Z
A web page on the GoodTherapy.org website founded by Noah Rubinstein, this is an online encyclopedia with articles about psychology terms, issues treated in therapy, types of therapy, modes of therapy, psychotropic medication, and famous psychologists.
Social Psychology Network
This is a gateway to links on psychology and social psychology. Includes links to electronic forums; Web-based psychology databases, dictionaries, encyclopedias, research & grant assistance, digital libraries, etc.; a directory of professional profiles; links to partner Websites; and more.
Test Collection at ETS
A database of more than 25,000 tests and other measurement devices, most of which were created by authors outside ETS. It makes information on standardized tests and research instruments available to researchers, graduate students and teachers.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.