LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: Health & Nursing

HEALTH & NURSING Subject Guide

AcademicInfo
• http://www.academicinfo.net/
• Michael Madin, founder, 1998
• .net
more...less...
An online education resource center with extensive subject guides and distance learning information. Includes information about degrees in Health Sciences, Nursing, and Health Care Administration.
Allnurses.com, Inc.
• http://allnurses.com/
• Allnurses.com Inc.
• .com
more...less...
A commercially run online social-media community designed to provide information to and a means for interaction among nursing professionals.
American Nurses Association - ANA
• http://www.nursingworld.org/
• .org
more...less...
ANA is a professional organization representing the interests of the nation's 3.1 million registered nurses through its constituent and state nurses associations and its organizational affiliates. The ANA advances the nursing profession by fostering high standards of nursing practice, promoting the rights of nurses in the workplace, projecting a positive and realistic view of nursing, and by lobbying the Congress and regulatory agencies on health care issues affecting nurses and the public.
American Nurses Credentialing Center
• https://www.nursingworld.org/ancc/
• American Nurses Association
• .org
more...less...
ANCC certifies and recognizes individual nurses in specialty practice areas such as School NP, Family NP, Gerontological NP, Pediatric CNS, Gerontological CNS, Forensic Nursing, Psychiatric-Mental Health Nursing, Nursing Care Management, Faith Community Nursing, and so forth.
BioMed Central
• http://www.biomedcentral.com/search
• BioMed Central Ltd, part of Springer Science+Business Media
• .com
more...less...
A STM (Science, Technology and Medicine) publisher of 220 open access, online, peer-reviewed journals. The portfolio of journals spans all areas of biology and medicine. Registration is free, but is required.
Boards of Nursing
• https://www.ncsbn.org/contact-bon.htm
• ncsbn.org
• .org
more...less...
Boards of Nursing are state governmental agencies whose sole purpose is to protect the public's health and welfare by overseeing and ensuring the safe practice of nursing through regulations. This listing includes all the states and U.S. territories with their addresses, phone and fax numbers.
ChildStats.gov: Forum on Child and Family Statistics
• http://www.childstats.gov/index.asp
• Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics
• .gov
more...less...
The Forum's annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being, provides a summary of national indicators of child well-being in the areas of family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health. It also monitors changes in these indicators over time.
Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
• http://www.dartmouthatlas.org/
• Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinics
• .org
more...less...
Issues comprehensive reports and analysis about national, regional, and local markets, as well as individual hospitals and their affiliated physicians using Medicare data. May view data by specific regions and perform customized comparisons and analyses.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides a comprehensive, subject-organized list of open access journals that are peer reviewed. Defines “open access journal” as any which does not charge readers or institutions for access.
Drugwatch
• http://www.drugwatch.com/
• Peterson Firm, LLP
• .com
more...less...
Provides the latest facts about prescription drugs and their effects, and continuous updates about research breakthroughs, clinical trials, drug recalls and FDA warnings. Also provides up-to-date information about medical and surgical devices used around the world and their implications for patients.
Hospital Compare
• http://www.medicare.gov/hospitalcompare/search.html
• Medicare.gov, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
• .gov
more...less...
Provides information about how well hospitals care for patients with certain medical conditions or surgical procedures, and results from a survey of patients about the quality of care they received during a recent hospital stay.
Healthfinder.gov
• http://www.healthfinder.gov/
• U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, National Health Information Center
• .gov
more...less...
Links to credible health information on topics such as nutrition & fitness, HIV & STDs, screening tests, cancer screening & prevention, diabetes, pregnancy, heart health, and more. Also provides social media connections to other people and organizations around a health topic or need.
Health, United States
• http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/hus.htm
• National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
• .gov
more...less...
An annual report that presents national health trends on birth and death rates, infant mortality, life expectancy, morbidity and health status, risk factors, use of ambulatory and inpatient care, health personnel and facilities, financing of health care, health insurance and managed care, etc.
Health Resources and Services Administration
• http://www.hrsa.gov/index.html
• U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
• .gov
more...less...
HRSA works to strengthen the health care workforce, build healthy communities, and improve health equity. HRSA’s grantees provide health care to uninsured people, people living with HIV/AIDS, and pregnant women, mothers, and children. HRSA also supports the training of health professionals, the distribution of providers to areas where they are needed most, and improvements in health care delivery.
The agency oversees organ, bone marrow and cord blood donation. It compensates individuals harmed by vaccination, and maintains databases that protect against health care malpractice, waste, fraud and abuse.
InnerBody (Guide to Human Anatomy)
• https://www.innerbody.com/
• HowToMedia, Inc.
• .com
more...less...
Interactive manual of human anatomy covering ten systems of the human body: skeletal, digestive, muscular, lymphatic, endocrine, nervous, cardiovascular, male reproductive, female reproductive, and urinary. Includes over one hundred illustrations, thousands of descriptions, animations, and tutorials.
Kaiser State Health Facts
• https://kff.org/statedata/
• Kaiser Family Foundation
• .org
more...less...
Provides data on more than 700 health topics, individual state profiles, and comparisons of states on topics such as health coverage & uninsured, minority health, women’s health, HIV/AIDS, health reform, providers & service use, Medicare, Medicaid & CHIP, health costs & budgets, demographics, etc.
MedlinePlus
• http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/
• National Library of Medicine, National Institutes of Health (NIH)
• .gov
more...less...
Provides information about diseases, conditions, wellness issues, new treatments, drugs and supplements, meanings of medical terms, and links to the latest medical research and clinical trials on a disease or condition. Also provides illustrations, videos and interactive health tutorials.
MedScape.com
• http://www.medscape.com/
• WebMD®
• .com
more...less...
Offers original, professional medical content, including review articles, journal commentary, expert columns, patient education articles, book reviews, and more. It also provides the primary-source medical journal, The Medscape from WebMD Journal of Medicine. Registration is required.
National Association of School Nurses
• http://www.nasn.org/
• .org
more...less...
NASN supports school nurse objectives by publishing issue briefs and position statements on subjects affecting student health and school nursing to keep members updated on aspects affecting their school communities. In the legislative arena, NASN employs a Washington DC-based representative to promote school nurse issues and interact with congress on the organization's behalf.
National Black Nurses Association, Inc
• http://www.nbna.org/
• .org
more...less...
The NBNA mission “is to provide a forum for collective action by African American nurses to investigate, define and determine what the health care needs of African Americans are and to implement change to make available to African Americans and other minorities health care commensurate with that of the larger society.”
National Center for Health Statistics - NCHS
• http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to data and statistical information via an alphabetical index, by topic through “FastStats—Statistics by Topic,” and other features, such as QuickStat of the Week and Data Access. Source citations are included.
National Institute of Mental Health: Mental Health Information
• http://www.nimh.nih.gov/health/index.shtml
• National Institute of Mental Health
• .gov
more...less...
Extensive introductory information and resources on broad mental health topics such as eating disorders, social phobia, and anxiety disorders. The mission of NIMH is to transform the understanding and treatment of mental illnesses through basic and clinical research, paving the way for prevention, recovery, and cure. NIMH is part of the National Institutes of Health, a component of the U.S. Dept of Health and Human Services.
National Student Nurses Association
• http://www.nsna.org/
• .org
more...less...
Founded in 1952, NSNA is a nonprofit organization for students enrolled in associate, baccalaureate, diploma, and generic graduate nursing programs. It is dedicated to fostering the professional development of nursing students.
National Survey on Drug Use and Health
• https://nsduhweb.rti.org/respweb/homepage.cfm
• National Survey on Drug Usage and Health
more...less...
Provides link to results of the NSDUH survey which measures the prevalence of drug and alcohol use among household members ages 12 and older. Topics include drug use, health, and demographics. Statistics are also available by state.
Nurses Service Organization - NSO
• http://www.nso.com/
• .com
more...less...
NSO is a commercial insurance company that provides individual liability insurance to nurses, student nurses, nurse practitioners, forensic nurses, and legal nurse consultants. NSO is endorsed by the National Student Nurses Association (see www.nso.com/NSNA).
Nursing Certificate Directory
• http://www.testprepreview.com/nursing_certifications.htm
• TestPrepReview.com, Enoch Morrison
• .com
more...less...
Provides information about the path to certification for over 60 specialized nursing certificates, such as: Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner, Medical Surgical Nurse, Pain Management Nurse, Critical Care RN, etc. Also provides information about the exams required and access to materials to study and prepare for those exams.
Nursing Organization Links
• http://www.nurse.org/orgs.shtml
• NP Central
• .net
more...less...
This links list of nursing organizations include general and specialized registered nurse and nurse practitioner (NP) organizations at the national, state, and international levels.
Public Library of Science - PLOS
• https://www.plos.org/
• PLOS
• .org
more...less...
Provides open access to 215,000+ peer-reviewed articles across in the sciences and medicine.
Science.gov
• https://www.science.gov/
• Science.gov Alliance, a federal interagency
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to over 50 databases and over 2100 selected Websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. May also search by topics, such as: Health & Medicine and Physics & Chemistry.
U.S. National Library of Medicine
• http://www.nlm.nih.gov/
• National Institutes of Health
• .gov
more...less...
Different databases provide access to current health news, medical literature and encyclopedias, health statistics, clinical trials, free full-text articles, grants & funding, history of medicine, Human Genome resources, and more.
WebAnatomy
• https://webanatomy.umn.edu/
• University of Minnesota
• .edu
more...less...
Provides self tests, including timed tests, about the anatomy of the human body and related topics such as: Cells, Tissues, Integumentary system, Skeletal System, Muscular System, Nervous System, Endocrine system, Cardiovascular System, Immunology, Respiratory System, Digestive System, etc.
WebMD Medical Encyclopedia
• https://www.webmd.com/
• WebMD, LLC
• .com
more...less...
A consumer-oriented medical encyclopedia (Health A-Z) with articles about various health topics, a symptom checker feature, drug & supplement reference information, and other information about healthy living, teen health, pet health, and parenting & pregnancy.
World Health Statistics - WHO
• http://www.who.int/gho/publications/world_health_statistics/en/index.html
• World Health Organization, United Nations
• int
more...less...
Provides an annual World Health Statistics report that presents the most recent health statistics for WHO's 194 Member States.
WorldWideScience.org
• https://worldwidescience.org/index.html
• WorldWide Science Alliance, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy
• .org
more...less...
Provides one-stop searching of scientific databases and portals from around the world. Includes access to multilingual scientific literature, and multilingual searching capabilities.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.