LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: Maryland

MARYLAND Subject Guide

Chesapeake Bay
• http://www.msa.md.gov/msa/mdmanual/01glance/html/ches.html
• Maryland State Archives
• .gov
more...less...
Provides an overview of the geography, history, and cultural significance of the bay and its importance environmentally and politically to the state of Maryland.
Code of Maryland Regulations - COMAR
• http://www.dsd.state.md.us/
• Maryland Division of State Documents
• .gov
more...less...
This site will allow you to view the online versions of the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR), and the Maryland Register.
Maryland Appellate Court Opinions
• http://www.courts.state.md.us/opinions.html
• Maryland Judiciary
• .gov
more...less...
Maryland appellate court opinions (Court of Appeals and Court of Special Appeals) in PDF from 1995 to the present.
Maryland Courts Self-Help Centers
http://www.mdcourts.gov/legalhelp/selfhelpcenters.html
Maryland Courts
.gov
Maryland General Assembly
• http://mlis.state.md.us/
• Department of Legislative Services, Office of Information Systems
• .gov
more...less...
Current and archived sessions of the Assembly from 1996 to the present. Includes bill information and status, hearing schedules, proceedings, rosters and committee lists, MD statutes, documents and indexes. Legislative information is updated daily during the Session.
Maryland Judiciary
• http://mdcourts.gov/index.html
• Maryland Judiciary
• .gov
more...less...
Primary access page to information about the Maryland court system. Includes information and links to District Court, Circuit Court, Appellate Courts, Orphans’ Court and more. Includes histories, court statistics, information and forms.
Maryland Judiciary Case Search
• http://casesearch.courts.state.md.us/casesearch/
• Maryland Judiciary
• .us
more...less...
This Website provides public access to Maryland District Court traffic, criminal, and civil case records and Maryland Circuit Court criminal and civil case records. This information includes names of parties, city and state, case number, date of birth, trial date, charge, and case disposition.
Maryland Manual On-Line
• http://www.msa.md.gov/msa/mdmanual/html/mmtoc.html
• Maryland State Archives
• .gov
more...less...
This publication presents an overview of the organizational structure and staffing of the executive, legislative and judicial branches of Maryland government, including budgets, organizational charts, historical evolution of agencies, and their origin and functions.
Maryland State Archives
• http://www.msa.md.gov/
• Maryland State Archives
• .gov
more...less...
This site provides free access to a variety of digitized Maryland government records, documents, and photographs (records of the Slavery Commission, photographs of the 1889 flood, etc.) from the archives. The documents date from the founding of the Maryland colony in 1634 to the beginning of this century.
Welcome to Maryland
• http://www.maryland.gov
• State of Maryland
• .gov
more...less...
This site is the primary access point for current information from and about governmental departments and agencies in Maryland, and also provides links to local and federal programs and resources.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.