LibGuides: Subject Guides for Websites: Computer Science & Technology

COMPUTER SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY Subject Guide

AcademicInfo
• http://www.academicinfo.net/
• Michael Madin, founder, 1998
• .net
more...less...
An online education resource center with extensive subject guides and information about online schools, colleges, and other distance learning opportunities.
• Computer Science Degree
• IT & Computer Sciences Degree Programs & Schools
arXiv.org
• http://arxiv.org/
• Cornell University Library, Cornell University
• .org
more...less...
Provides open access to 754,028 e-prints (scholarly research articles) in Computer Science, Physics, Mathematics, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. An international initiative, it has mirror sites in 13 countries and collaborations with professional societies and international organizations.
The Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education - AACE
• http://www.aace.org/
• .org
more...less...
AACE is an international, not-for-profit, educational organization with the mission of advancing Information Technology in Education and E-Learning research, development, learning, and its practical application. AACE offers international conferences, publications, a Digital Library, a Career Center, and other opportunities for professional growth.
Association for Computing Machinery - ACM
• http://www.acm.org/
• .org
more...less...
An educational and scientific computing society, ACM delivers resources that advance computing as a science and a profession, including the ACM Digital Library database. It also serves its members and the computing profession with leading-edge publications, conferences, and career resources.
ACM-Women
• http://women.acm.org/
• .org
more...less...
ACM-W, an affiliate of the Association of Computing Machinery (ACM). supports, celebrates, and advocates internationally for the full engagement of women in all aspects of the computing field, providing a wide range of programs and services to ACM members and working in the larger community to advance the contributions of technical women.
Black Data Processing Associates – BDPA
• http://www.bdpa.org/
• .org
more...less...
BDPA is a non-profit organization of professionals working in or having an interest in the Computer Science and Information Technology fields. BDPA has a diverse representation of information technology professionals. Included amongst the organization's members are programmers, analysts, engineers, managers, instructors, and entrepreneurs, to name a few.
Bootstrap
• https://www.bootstrapworld.org/
• Created by Emmanuel Schanzer, M.Ed., and coordinated by Program by Design
• .org
more...less...
Bootstrap is a standards-based curriculum for middle-school students, which teaches them to program their own videogames using purely algebraic and geometric concepts. Free curriculum materials include Student Workbook, a Teacher’s Guide, curriculum units 1 – 9, and Supplemental Lessons.
CiteSeerX: Scientific Literature Digital Library
• http://citeseerx.ist.psu.edu
• College of Information Sciences and Technology, Pennsylvania State University
• .edu
more...less...
CiteSeer is a scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science. CiteSeer uses ACI to create a citation index that can be used for literature search and evaluation.
Computer Science Teachers Association – CSTA
• https://www.csteachers.org/
• .org
more...less...
CSTA is a membership organization that supports and promotes the teaching of computer science and other computing disciplines. CSTA offers workshops, conferences, and resources for K-12 teachers and students. Resources include a model curriculum, an online repository of teaching and learning materials, policy information, and bi-monthly publications.
DOAJ - Directory of Open Access Journals
Provides a comprehensive, subject-organized list of open access journals that are peer reviewed. Defines “open access journal” as any which does not charge readers or institutions for access.
ECHO: Exploring & collecting history online
• https://rrchnm.org/echo/
• Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media
• .com
more...less...
Echo provides a centralized guide and portal for those seeking websites on the history of science and technology.
Engineering, Computing, and Technology Collections
• https://nsdl.oercommons.org/
• National Science Digital Library (NSDL)
• .org
more...less...
Provides access to information (interactive tutorials, Websites, etc.) that covers such topics as algorithms and data structures, operating systems, programming languages, software engineering, artificial intelligence, etc. Includes materials for students, educators, the general public, and researchers.
Free On-line Dictionary of Computing
• http://foldoc.org/
• Denis Howe, Editor. Imperial College, Department of Computing, London, UK.
• .org
more...less...
Over 14,000 definitions of acronyms, jargon, programming languages, operating systems, networking, standards, mathematics, electronics, and anything else to do with computing. Entries are cross-referenced to each other and related resources on the net.
HCI Bibliography: Human-Computer Interaction Resources
• http://www.hcibib.org/
• ACM SIGCHI – Association for Computing Machinery: Special Interest Group on Computer Human Interaction.
• .org
more...less...
Provides access to over 68,000 publications about Human-computer interaction. Topics for browsing include history of HCI, accessibility, companies, consultants, education, kids & computers, hot topics, conference proceedings, etc. Also provides links to Weblogs and User Interface Developer Resources.
IEEE Computer Society
• www.computer.org
• An affiliate of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE)
• .org
more...less...
A computing membership organization that provides a digital library of 29 journals and magazines, a jobs board, professional training webinars, technical conferences, and Computing Now (CN), an online source for all the IEEE publications.
International Association for Computer Information Systems - IACIS
• http://www.iacis.org/
• .org
more...less...
IACIS is a nonprofit association dedicated to the improvement of information systems and the education of information systems and computer professionals. These goals are accomplished through various activities, conferences, recognition awards, and publications such as the Journal of Computer Information Systems (JCIS) and Issues in Information Systems (IIS).
Netlingo: The Dictionary
• https://www.netlingo.com/dictionary/all.php
• Netlingo, Inc.
• .com
more...less...
Dictionary of Internet and other networking terms, including Internet acronyms and text messaging shorthand ;-) Features include links to Websites with products and information about the topic, download options for programs that correspond to the topic, “more info” and “FAQ.”
Science.gov
• http://www.science.gov/
• Science.gov Alliance, a federal interagency
• .gov
more...less...
Provides access to over 50 databases and over 2100 selected Websites from 12 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results. May also search by topics, such as Computers, Communication & Mathematics.
Society for the History of Technology
• http://www.historyoftechnology.org/
• .org
more...less...
SHOT is an international organization that actively works to foster a stronger global community for the study of the history of technology and to support a worldwide network of scholars in this field. We welcome as members people from any country who are interested in the history of technology, broadly defined. The society's quarterly journal, Technology and Culture, is published by the Johns Hopkins University Press. In addition to T&C, SHOT publishes a quarterly newsletter and, jointly with the American Historical Association, a booklet series, Historical Perspectives on Technology, Society, and Culture.
WorldWideScience.org
• https://worldwidescience.org/index.html
• WorldWide Science Alliance, Office of Science, U.S. Department of Energy
• .org
more...less...
Provides one-stop searching of scientific databases and portals from around the world. Includes access to multilingual scientific literature, and multilingual searching capabilities.

Last update: 8/11/2021

Google Scholar

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a variation of Google. It is designed specifically for scholarly literature searches.

Advantages

It’s free to use.
It has a simple, familiar interface that works much like regular Google.
It finds scholarly books, articles, and conference papers from a wide range of disciplines.

Disadvantages

Coverage is not comprehensive. It is a good first place to start researching a paper, but not comprehensive enough to be the only place you look.
Criteria used for selecting “scholarly” materials is not given. Search results can be a mixture of articles and books as well as unpublished manuscripts, course syllabi, and high school term papers, so you must critically evaluate what you find.
Results are not always full-text or free like regular Google. Often the link for an article will take you to the publishers website where the full article is available only if you buy it.